Stillbach oder Die Sehnsucht

Sabine Gruber was born in Merano in 1963 and grew up in Lana. Her studies in Innsbruck and Vienna included German philology, history, and political science. From 1988 to 1992 she worked as a German lecturer at the University Ca’ Foscari in Venice. She is the author of numerous novels, short stories, plays, radio dramas, and theatrical works, including the novels Aushäusige (1996), Die Zumutung (2003), Vita in Anagramma (2009), and Stillbach oder Die Sehnsucht (2011).

Clara Burger leaves Stillbach, in South Tyrol, to go to Rome and close up the home of her best friend Ines who has died unexpectedly. At her friend’s home, Clara finds the manuscript for a novel set in 1978, year of the Aldo Moro abduction. In the book, Ines appears to describe her summer job as a maid at the Hotel Manente; she writes about love, infidelity, and rebellion. However, she is actually telling the story of the hotel owner, Emma Manente, who had been living in Rome since 1938 and, much to the dismay of her South Tyrolean family, was married to an Italian.
Was she the one betrothed to Johann back in Stillbach, who died during the partisan attack in Rome in 1944? And was Paolo, the historian whom Clara meets in Rome, really Ines’s lover at that time? What were the repercussions of the tension underlying the position of South Tyrol from the Fascist and Nazi regimes up to today?
Sabine Gruber captures our attention with this exciting, epic tale intertwining private and historical events between Stillbach and Rome – crime and infidelity, lust, truth, and newfound love all unfolded in spellbinding detail.

Font
Title: Stillbach oder Die Sehnsucht
Author: Sabine Gruber
Year of Release: 2011
Publisher: C.H. Beck
ISBN: 978 3 406 62166 6

 
© 2016 IDM Südtirol - Alto Adige I VAT No. IT 02521490215 | Endowment capital 5.000.000 €

Stillbach oder Die Sehnsucht

Sabine Gruber, 1963 in Meran geboren und in Lana aufgewachsen, studierte Germanistik, Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft in Innsbruck und Wien. Von 1988 bis 1992 arbeitete sie als Deutschlektorin an der Universität Ca‘ Foscari in Venedig. Sie ist Autorin zahlreicher Romane, Erzählungen, Dramen, Hörspiele und Theaterstücke; zu ihren Romanen zählen “Aushäusige” (1996), “Die Zumutung” (2003), “Über Nacht” (2009) und “Stillbach oder Die Sehnsucht” (2011).

Als ihre beste Freundin Ines in Rom plötzlich stirbt, reist Clara Burger aus Stillbach in Südtirol an, um Ines’ Haushalt aufzulösen. Dabei entdeckt sie ein Romanmanuskript, das im Rom des Jahres 1978 spielt, dem Jahr der Entführung und Tötung Aldo Moros. Darin beschreibt Ines offenbar ihre eigene Ferienarbeit vor mehr als dreißig Jahren als Zimmermädchen im Hotel Manente, schreibt von Liebe, Verrat und Subversion, erzählt aber die Geschichte ihrer Chefin Emma Manente, die seit 1938 in Rom lebt und zum Leidwesen ihrer Südtiroler Familie einen Italiener geheiratet hat.
War sie tatsächlich Johann aus Stillbach versprochen gewesen, der 1944 bei einem Partisanenanschlag in Rom getötet worden war? Und ist der Historiker Paul, den Clara in Rom kennenlernt, der Geliebte von Ines aus jenem Jahr? Wie wirken die Spannungen um Südtirol und seine Zugehörigkeit seit der NS-Zeit und dem Faschismus bis heute nach?
In diesem großen, wunderschön geschriebenen Roman erzählt Sabine Gruber spannend und präzise von der Verflechtung persönlicher und historischer Ereignisse, von Stillbach und von Rom, von Verrat und Verbrechen, von Sehnsucht, Wahrheit und neuer Liebe.

Quelle
Titel: Stillbach oder Die Sehnsucht
Autor: Sabine Gruber
Erscheinungsjahr: 2011
Verlag: C.H. Beck
ISBN-Nr.: 978 3 406 62166 6

 
© 2016 IDM Südtirol - Alto Adige I MwSt. Nr. IT 02521490215 | Ausstattungskapital 5.000.000 €