The Monuments Men

Robert M. Edsel (born 1956) is an American writer, entrepreneur, and founder of the Monuments Men Foundation for the Preservation of Art. The mission of this American foundation is to honour the “Monuments Men”, or those who participating in the Monuments, Fine Arts and Archives programme in order to protect art and culture during and after World War II. Edsel has been intensively engaged in the topic of Nazi art theft and wrote the non-fiction books Rescuing Da Vinci and The Monuments Men: Allied Heroes, Nazi Thieves and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History.

The story revolves around six Monuments Men and their impossible mission: to save the world’s greatest works of art from the Nazis. Edsel has focussed his attention on the period between D-Day (6 June, 1944, when the Allied forces landed in Normandy) and Victory in Europe Day (8 May, 1945, the end of World War II in Europe). In the last two weeks of the war, all six Monuments Men had the same destination: a village in the Alps, near the German-Austrian-Italian border. There, the Nazis were storing their cache of treasure.

The book Rescuing Da Vinci indicates that Neumelans Manor, located in Campo Tures (Sand in Taufers), and its gatehouse served at the end of World War II as a hiding place for works of art stolen by German troops. Donatello’s Saint George and Michelangelo's Bacchus were among the works stored inside the gatehouse.

Font
Title: The Monuments Men
Author: Robert M. Edsel
Publisher: Arrow Books (03.06.2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1848091036
ISBN-13: 978-1848091030

 
© 2016 IDM Südtirol - Alto Adige I VAT No. IT 02521490215 | Endowment capital 5.000.000 €

The Monuments Men

Robert M. Edsel (geboren 1956) ist ein amerikanischer Schriftsteller, Unternehmer und Gründer der „Monuments Men Foundation for the Preservation of Art“. Diese US-amerikanische Stiftung dient zur Erinnerung an jene Menschen, die während und nach dem 2. Weltkrieg als „Monuments Men“ im Monuments, Fine Arts, and Archives program gedient haben, um Kunst und Kultur zu schützen. Edsel hat sich intensiv mit dem Kunstraub der Nazis beschäftigt und schrieb die Sachbücher „Rescuing Da Vinci“ und „The Monuments Men: Allied Heros, Nazi Thieves and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History“.

Erzählt wird von sechs Monuments Men und deren unmögliche Mission die größten Kunstwerke der Erde vor den Nazis zu retten. Edsel fokussierte sich dabei auf die Periode zwischen D-Day (6. Juni 1944, Landung der Alliierten in der Normandie) und dem Victory in Europe Day (8. Mai 1945, Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges in Europa). Alle sechs Monuments Men hatten in den letzten zwei Wochen des Krieges das gleiche Ziel, einen Ort in den Alpen, in der Nähe der deutsch-österreichischen-italienischen Grenze. Dort lagerte ein Zwischenspeicher des Schatzes der Nazis.
Aus dem Buch „Rescuing da Vinci“ geht hervor, dass der Anstitz „Neumelans“, in Sand in Taufers, sowie der dazugehörige Torbau gegen Ende des 2. Weltkrieges als Versteck für gestohlene Kunstwerke der deutschen Truppen diente. Im Torbau wurde unter anderem Donatellos Hl. Georg und Michelangelos Bacchus gelagert.

Quelle
Titel: The Monuments Men
Autor: Robert M. Edsel
Verlag: Arrow Books (3. Juni 2010)
Sprache: Englisch
ISBN-10: 1848091036
ISBN-13: 978-1848091030

 
© 2016 IDM Südtirol - Alto Adige I MwSt. Nr. IT 02521490215 | Ausstattungskapital 5.000.000 €